Ham Loaf 2

Laura’s Ham Loaf & Raisin Sauce

I recently bought a copy of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Country Cookbook from the Rocky Ridge Book Store in Mansfield, Missouri.  Last weekend, I decided to try my hand at making Laura’s Ham Loaf with Raisin Sauce recipe (page 18).  I’m not usually a fan of meat loaf, but the recipe’s description said that even folks who don’t like meat loaf find it enjoyable.

The recipe was very simple, but required a solid investment of time.  Preparation was close to an hour (for me, anyway) and baking time was 1.5 hours.  Half way through the cooking process, I realized that the apple cider vinegar I had used was marked as double strength.  At one point, my husband walked through the kitchen and made a comment about the strong smell of vinegar.  I was slightly concerned, but continued on, recounting the advice of Barbara Walker (author of The Little House Cookbook) that recipe books were; after all, just aspirational targets.  I’m glad I persevered, because the double strength vinegar didn’t seem to make any difference.  The meal was delicious.

The raisin sauce was easy to make and was a great accompaniment to the ham loaf.  I served the meal with baby roasted potatoes, which balanced out the flavors nicely.  I’m pleased to report that all plates were returned to the kitchen empty!

4 thoughts on “Laura’s Ham Loaf & Raisin Sauce

  1. Capt Jill

    That looks really good! I’m not sure if I want to spend so much effort cooking that up, but if somebody were to make it for me, I’m sure I’d love it!
    Thanks for posting such interesting stuff. ;-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

